The Little Train that Could & Me!

4 Mar

Did I happen to say that not only is the twist out one of the most popular hair styles for a natural, it is also one of my favorites!  I use to do twist outs and braid outs with my locs all the time…and I LOVED IT!  Because of my love for this style and my inexplicable need to not be defeated… I decided to try the twist out a second time; this time with a little more power under my belt…YOU TUBE! 

I found this person on YouTube, who seemed to have the same problem as I did – a flat twist out.  Takes a look at what she did…be sure to watch part 2 as well.

 

If you’re still reading after you watched the video, I want to tell you what I did differently than taren916:

  1. First off I immediately realized that she did not have the same texture hair as me, but she did have the same problem.
  2. I used Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk (again – trying to finish the bottle so I can try the KBB’s brand!)
  3. I parted my hair into three sections – each section having about three double strand twists
  4. Then I used Burt’s Bee Avocado Butter Pre-Shampoo Hair Treatment ( a small amount on each twist)
  5. I locked the ends with 100% organic coconut oil
  6. I bantu knotted the twist – yes, I was not playing, I wanted my big hair back!
  7. I lightly spritz my hair with my homemade aloe vera spritz
  8. Wrapped my hair with a satin head wrap for the night!

This mornings results – I am HAPPY with my hair!

Final thoughts:

Never give up,  learn your hair, and always have fun being Natural!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This weekend I will discuss how I combed out my locs (tear), ’til than stay happy being natural!

2 Responses to “The Little Train that Could & Me!”

  1. Heidi March 4, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    I love you hair! It looks great. So glad to have your blog as encouragement and inspiration as I work to keep my daughters’ hair healthy and natural! (Thanks for your comment on my blog. I left you a reply.)

    • une autre naturelle March 4, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

      We should definately keep in contact…my daughter is 5 years old, going on 25. I’ll try to post some information on what I do with her hair!

Leave a Reply

