Meeting Karen!

1 Mar

Hello Readers:  Keep in mind that I no longer update this site, the new updated blog can be found at www.uneautrenaturelle.com.  Thank you!

I recently had a great conversation with Karen….that is Karen of Karen Body Beautiful.  I have been reading blog after blog about many different products and KBB kept coming up.  At first I had no idea what KBB stood for, but after yesterday I will never forget. 

Upon entering the store, my first impression was simply….WOW!  The store is right in the heart of Clinton Hill/Fort Greene Brooklyn….my once upon a time home town.  I was most disappointed in knowing that I once lived in the area but never stopped by for a visit.  The store is beautifully manicured and welcoming.  Karen and her family (met her husband and beautiful daughter) are extremely customer service oriented.  I felt right at home when explaining my “natural” situation to her. 

Let me explain, I have been natural for over five years….4.5 of those years was with locs.  I maintained my locs on my own with an occasional visit to the natural hair salon – De Lux.  All I ever put in my hair was handmade soap and water.  About 2 weeks ago I finished combing my locs out! Yes…they were combed out (this is a story for another blog post).  The thing is, for the past two weeks I have had no real idea about what to do with my hair.  It’s almost a culture shock to actually comb through my hair.

So I did what I read on the blogs – washed, conditioned, and deep conditioned my hair….the real question for me was: “What’s next?”  I knew that I only wanted to use the most natural of products in my hair.  I do not want to put products in my hair that I can’t pronounce – and this is how I ended up in Karen Body Beautiful on a gorgeous winter day – February 27, 2010.

After a wonderful conversation and Karen convincing me that I should memorialize my locs via blog, I purchased the following products:

  1. Karen Body Beautiful Hair Milk
  2. Karen Body Beautiful Hair Butter
  3. Luscious Locks Moisturizing Hair Mask

So, long story short, one hand was leaving the store with a bag of goodies, while the mind was working on creating a blog…..

Can’t wait to try the products!  ‘til then, thanks Karen!

5 Responses to “Meeting Karen!”

  1. Socialite Dreams March 3, 2010 at 2:58 am #

    welcome to having your hair OUT and about 🙂 it can be fun, there are lots of online venues where you can check out awesome tips. here are some good sites to help you on your way now that your curls are free:

    http://www.newlynatural.com
    http://www.curlynikki.com
    my friend also had locs and now is free curling it, check her out: http://naturaltaketwo.wordpress.com/

    as well, there are lots of great youtube tutorials, here’s a great listing: http://thankgodimnatural.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/mini-webisode-twist-out-fro/

    good luck babe, and hit me up if you have any questions or anything 😀

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

  2. cammiecam March 3, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Good luck on your journey! I’m just starting to enjoy my loose natural hair, it’s quite a transition from locs. As the weather gets warmer I’ll be sure to update my blog more and look forward to reading yours! 🙂

    http://naturaltaketwo.wordpress.com/

    • une autre naturelle March 4, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks for reading! Locs to loose hair is really a transition. Now I must re-learn what my hair really likes!

  3. Shones March 15, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Grace, peace and life! I am so glad you blogged about your loc-takedown experience (sounds like a martial arts move). I wish I had the patience to do that 3 years ago when I BC’d my locs. I’ve been free-form since then, and I love the versatility, though locs are gorgeous in their own right. I’m interested in hearing your thoughts about KBB products after you’ve had some time to try them. I might have to visit her shop when I visit NYC in May.

    • une autre naturelle March 19, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      Checked out your pictures, your hair is lovely!
      I will definately post something about the KBB products. I want to use them a few times before I write my opinion; but you should definately check out her store when you come to NYC….the area is full of pro-natural hair products and salons.

Leave a Reply

