Le début

28 Feb

Hello Readers:  Keep in mind that I no longer update this site, the new updated blog can be found at www.uneautrenaturelle.com.  Thank you!

In May 2005, while living in Boston Massachusetts, I decided to get my hair twisted.  I hadn’t permed my hair in over 5 months and I thought…”hell, why not try something new and loc your hair?”  That’s all there was to it.  No thought, no contemplation, no nothing.

I went to Muriel’s Natural Hair Care and explained that I wanted to loc my hair.  My stylist was really good.  Prior to twisting she talked to me about:

  • the texture of my hair
  • she asked about my desired results – lentgh, thickness, est
  • and she even discussed maintenance

I learned that due to the texture of my hair, the locin process would take a relatively long time (longer than I anticipated anyway).  I also learned that the size of my starter locs was important for my end result.  I wanted a medium size loc throughout my hair and I wanted a zigzag loc formation …basically I did not want perfectly parted locs in my hair.

Here’s a picture of me two weeks into the locin process…..I HATED MY NEW LOOK, but I refused to be beaten by unruly hair…..

2 Responses to “Le début”

  1. SHaitien March 1, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Wait a minute, was the original debut like ’95/’96?

    • une autre naturelle March 2, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      WOW! You bought me back…I may have to show the world the many times I was natural!

Leave a Reply

